Ho Ho Hum

I really, truly need to become a better manager of my time in the mornings.

Because today, a whole myriad of issues led to me leaving my house at 6:51 a.m. when I supposedly get to work at 7 a.m. (Not today!) The thing is I got most of my lunch ready last night. But I didn’t think about what to wear or if I needed to iron or any other things like that. Here’s some issues I faced this morning:

• I’m out of coffee. And I really wanted some this morning.
• My hair has a mind of its own and like William Wallace, believes in freedom. It would not be contained or controlled this morning. So I have a kind of wild mane and not in a good way.
• My face is so dry that it hurts. Nothing appears to be working.
• Breakouts really can put you in a bad mood.
• Ironing pants at this time of morning really stopped being cool awhile ago. Yet I make no effort to fix the problem.
• Something I wanted to wear turned out to be in the dirty laundry. So I had to rethink wardrobe options.
• This sweater needs a necklace, but which one. . . .

Needless to say, I was late, not that I or anyone else, for that matter, really cared. But I was in a pretty bad mood when I left my house, which honestly, was heavily influenced by dissatisfaction with my hair and appearance. Then, after some drive-time praying, I was reminded that in the long run, these things don’t matter and have no eternal value. Today is one day.

One day.

I can choose to face it with joy or be overwhelmed by miniscule circumstances that don’t really matter. So, I’m making a concerted effort to be joyful today.

Even though a part of me would still like to crawl back into bed.

One thought on “Ho Ho Hum”

Leave a Reply

