Tomorrow is a long time.

Tomorrow, people (how many I don’t fully know) are coming to my house for an early potluck Thanksgiving dinner. Being me, that meant cooking and cleaning today. And—oh.my.word—today has been crazy. You’re getting the play-by-play, simply because I want to tell someone about it.

5 a.m.
My alarm goes off because I forgot to turn it off last night. Yay! I love being awakened at 5 a.m. on a Saturday. I am NOT getting up and toss and turn for awhile, eventually falling back asleep.

8 a.m.
Up and ready to face the day. Eat a piece of cake for breakfast and sip some coffee. Realize I have to go pick up some prescriptions and get some groceries while I’m there, because even though I’ve been to the store three times already this week, I don’t have everything I need. SCORE, me!

9:20 a.m.
Head out to the grocery store. I haven’t taken a shower or put on makeup, but I’m going and really don’t care what I look like. (I do brush my teeth and hair and put on acceptable clothing.) Here’s proof:
IMG_1698

10 a.m.
Back from the store. It’s time to make the pumpkin cake. Wanna watch? OK!
IMG_1700IMG_1702IMG_1703IMG_1706

(Actually, that last picture comes a little later, but this helps you see full circle.)

10:40 a.m.
Put clean dishes away. Reload dishwasher. Set timer for cake to bake. Basically had to climb INSIDE a cabinet to put something I don’t use very often away.

Noon
Kitchen is clean. Eat lunch, surf the Internet, contemplate watching Elizabethtown while cleaning.

12:30 p.m.
Dust upstairs. Watch Elizabethtown. Make whipped cream cheese icing for cake. Ice cake.

44331909-256b95dd2fcb8ec4976ded6517497510.4b0859cf-scaled

Clean bathrooms. Vacuum. Dust some more. Do laundry. Take out trash. Take dog outside. Drink a Dr. Pepper. Get extraordinarily happy when Drew sees Claire at the second largest farmer’s market in the world. Change shirts, put on shorts. Clean floors in living room. Vacuum furniture.

3 p.m.
Finish cleaning house. Think about putting clean dishes away, but decide to rest a minute. Sit on the couch, mindlessly flipping channels and watching a bit of a college football game. (I could take a picture of this, but it wouldn’t be pretty. I think a shower is in order before you guys see my smiling, but tired face.)

Actually, that sounds like a plan. . .

But the house is clean. The cake looks beautiful. I can’t do anything else until tomorrow. Let’s hope it all comes together!

One thought on “Tomorrow is a long time.”

  1. The cake looks so good! I’m having a piece of that and the one Ryne is bringing. I will be thoroughly stuffed and ready for a nap.

    AND ONCE AGAIN I WILL SAY YOU LOOK GOOD WITHOUT MAKEUP!

Leave a Reply

