Just in case you weren’t aware, you’re old (and some additional thoughts)

Yesterday, I got an invitation to my cousin’s wedding. The cousin who is like six or seven years younger than me. I remember not only when she was born, but when her mom was pregnant with her!

This is the little girl I watched grow up, the one who used to close her eyes and “hide” every time my dad came in the room, the one I spent one Christmas or holiday celebration at my parents’ house walking up and down the stairs with.

(As a complete sidenote, I’m sure the mailman loved my mailbox. Let’s just get this out there: I’m pretty much terrible at checking the mail. I get my mail about twice a month when I know bills are coming due. I’m fairly sure the mailman (and it is a mailman) curses me every time he has to stuff MORE mail into my already full mailbox. Even so, I don’t change. Because I’m comfortable with my laziness. This also lets you guys know that if you want me to know something, mailing it might not be the best idea. And if you do, give me a heads up to go look in my mail.)

But my cousin’s getting married, and that just solidified my “oldness.” It’s bad enough that kids I used to baby-sit are married and having children of their own. Now, my own cousin is getting married and therefore, pointing out my elderly state. 😉

Now comes the eh part: I probably won’t be able to go. Instead of getting married in our hometown, my cousin is getting married in Branson. At Silver Dollar City. In the Wilderness Chapel, the smallest church ever. And she’s getting married on December 19 at 2 p.m. A mere six days before Christmas. Let me spell that out for you: I won’t be in attendance. I will likely be working through December 18 and probably a day or two the next week, just because I know we’ll be working to the wire on several issues of the magazine. Seeing that I’d be working through Friday, the only way for me to get to Branson in time for the wedding would be to fly, which, my friends, would be EXPENSIVE. And while I feel badly about it, I just don’t think it will be possible. I wish they’d have a reception or something later in my hometown. That way, I’d get to see her in her dress and congratulate them in person.

And now for the additional thoughts:

• I am now a big supporter of Aveeno’s skin relief body wash. While on vacation, I had a bit of an allergic reaction to some soap at the inn. (It was probably a combination of things, but it wasn’t pretty.) I got this big blotchy, bumpy itchy thing on the back of my leg and was so flummoxed by it, I thought about parading through the inn making people look at it. But that would not have been the best idea, for modesty’s sake! Anyway, I bought the body wash that day and have been using it since. I like the way it smells and moisturizes. I like that it seems to help my neck, which is extra sensitive to a lot of things. So, yay Aveeno! You may have just gotten a new fan/customer.

• I made apple crisp last night. Apple crisp made with real butter and served warm with vanilla ice cream is a wonderful thing.

• I am lonely without my dog at my house. I keep looking for her and then remembering she’s at my parents’ house. Last night, I was about to call her upstairs, when I remembered. This is a sad state of affairs.

• And finally, I have SO much laundry at my house. Much of it needs to be folded. Who wants to come have a “party”? Hmm? Crickets. Oh, well, it was worth a try.

4 thoughts on “Just in case you weren’t aware, you’re old (and some additional thoughts)”

  1. you’d want your cousin to have a reception way after the wedding and make her put on her dress? wouldn’t that be bad luck or something?

    can you send some of that apple crisp to me? thanks.

  2. Nah, not bad luck at all. My other cousin did it when they got married in Jamaica. It’s common practice to have a reception closer to home when you have a destination wedding. Or so I’m told. . .

    I’d send the apple crisp, but I’m not sure how it would hold up. I could send a picture, but that would just be mean! 😉

Leave a Reply

