A thousand words

This morning as I was getting ready for the day (which was a slow process . . . I’m sleepy), I came to a decision. I’m going to start taking more pictures.

OK, that’s a pretty general goal, right? One that sounds like it will never get accomplished, huh? (BTW, you probably shouldn’t ask me how my challenge to read 50 books in a year is going.) But you have underestimated me! I refined the goal even more and decided to take at least one picture every day. Kind of like my own little project 365.

For years, I have bemoaned the fact that my photography is, well, not-so-great. I took a photography-for-non-majors class when I was in J-school. (Photo-j students were intimidating. And slightly crazy.) Let’s just say that my photography skills lacked a bit. I don’t seem to have the eye. I don’t generally get the best composition. But what better way to get better at something than to practice it?! So expect to see some random photography appearing her and on my Flickr page in the next few months. I may crash and burn in this attempt, but at least I’ll go down attempting something new!

I’ll leave you with a picture I’ve taken that I actually like. This is from my trip to Russia and is a shot of the beach area of the Black Sea in Sochi, Russia.
Sochi seashore

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “A thousand words”

  1. This is great! And you don’t need a fancy camera! As they say, the best camera to shoot with is the one you have with you (even cell phone cameras)! Many photographers shoot every day, most times without their fancy cameras. I try to shoot more or less daily, but don’t post as much as I should. It’s not only fun, but amazing how much it helps develop an eye.

    Your photo above tells a great story. Keeping the people in the frame really makes it work!

Leave a Reply

