My, my. You look hungry, my dear.

It was Saturday afternoon. My parents had just rolled up (with their camper) from Branson about an hour before. Jason, Amber and I had taken Eli swimming, and now it was time to think about dinner. Because if there’s one thing we Crows do right, it’s eat.

But since my parents had been on vacation for the last week or so, food wasn’t exactly happening. So, my mom and I set out for Dexter (a town with more actual restaurants than my hometown) to get some ribs and baked potatoes from a local restaurant. We’d add salad and other fixings to the mix when we got back.

But we must have looked famished or something because this is what went down at the restaurant in Dexter when we ordered ribs:

Mom: We want two sides of ribs, five baked potatoes, and two drinks. (We were thirsty.)
Cashier: OK. That will be $___. (I don’t remember the cost, nor is it really important to the story.)
My mom is busy writing her check. Yes, my mother is one of those people who still writes checks. It doesn’t really annoy me with her, since at home, everybody still writes checks a lot of the time.
Cashier: This is for here, right?
Me: Um, no. . . it’s to go.
(In my mind, I’m wondering why in the world she thinks me and my mother would sit down to eat two whole sides of ribs. And 5 baked potatoes—I’m guessing 2.5 each. Did she think we were competitive eaters? Really hungry? I mean, really? What kind of question IS this?!)
My mom looks up, her check finished, a grin on her face. Our eyes meet. I make every effort not to roll mine.
Cashier: This is to go? (to my mom. I guess my assurance didn’t count for anything.)
Mom: Yes. To go. (slight snicker)

Mom and I go to fill our drinks and I ask her why in the world that woman would think we would be eating two sides of ribs and five baked potatoes between us. Seriously? Was she just having a moment or did she really think that was a reasonable amount of food for two people to eat?

Oh, well. The food was good. And there were leftovers.

So take that, Cashier Lady!

5 thoughts on “My, my. You look hungry, my dear.”

  1. Ahh, the simple life in the bootheel. My parents are still check people, too. They have a debit card but think it’s inconvenient to use it??? But unlike here, everyone still accepts checks down there.

  2. I have to coach my parents through using the debit card scanner thing at the Wal-Mart in Dexter. They’ve gotten much better, but think it’s easier to write checks. . .

  3. i’m not sure of my own parents’ debit card use, but i would hope they’ve joined the 21st century.

    i remember writing checks when it was still socially acceptable, and felt awkward because it would take so long.

  4. They do tend to use debit cards in places other than around home.

    The thing is that at home, most everyone writes checks for all occasions.

    And I can’t believe you sort of dissed my parents! 😉 Note to self: beat Scott up.

  5. My parents don’t own a debit card for their bank account. Dad writes only two to three checks a year: twice for car insurance (he goes by the place and hands it to them) and if they owe taxes instead of getting a refund.

    My mom has a couple of credit cards, dad has none. My mom still gets flustered when using a card at any checkout. My dad uses cash for every purchase…which isn’t all that many, mainly gas. Mom does all the shopping in the family.

    And this post reminds me of the movie “2 weeks notice.” Sandra Bullock’s character is ordering Chinese delivery and the guy asks if her very large order is for two. She says, “No, it’s for one.” Later in the movie she gets to say, “Yes, for two.”

Leave a Reply

