Working for the weekend

Last week, the weather “people” in Nashville began predicting a beautiful weekend with mild temperatures and sunshine.

And because of their track record and my Show-Me state mentality, I was resolved to believe it when I saw it. But, then, dear readers, it actually happened! Sunshine. Blue skies. Puffy white clouds. Temps in the upper 70s, low 80s during the day. Yeah, it was pretty much perfect. Like San Diego, you know without the beach or Coronado.

Anyway, the pretty weather made for a good weekend. Here’s how it all went down!

On Friday afternoon, I got a call from my friend Mindy, which resulted in an impromptu girls’ night at the movies with our friend Alisha. We went to see “The Proposal,” and even though Mindy and I had previously outlined the movie’s basic plot due to our extensive knowledge of romantic comedies, we all enjoyed it immensely. Ryan Reynolds is FUNNY! And cute. (Or at least I think so, you don’t have to agree on that one.) His deadpan expressions and sarcastic responses to Sandra Bullock’s character once he’s on his home turf are HILARIOUS. Or at least they were to me in my popcorn-and-soda-induced euphoria.

Also, a sidenote about something I learned on Friday: If you’re just learning to sew, trying to figure out darts on your own really isn’t a good idea. 🙂

All week long (or at least since I had made my foray into Trader Joe’s) I had planned to make either blueberry muffins or blueberry pancakes from the fresh blueberries I’d purchased for my Saturday morning breakfast. While eating blueberries on their own or in a pie is enough to make me gag, I LOVE blueberry muffins, which is exactly what I decided to bake. So I grabbed my Betty Crocker cookbook and set out to try Betty’s recipe. And sadly, the muffins were disappointing. I don’t know if it was me or the recipe, but I’m blaming the recipe. At least I’d decided to make myself a mocha latte, so breakfast wasn’t a total loss.

At some point during all of that, I began chatting with Mindy on Facebook. Yes, Mindy and I talk a lot. No, we’re not confused by our similar names. Mindy told me that federal parks were fee free (say that 10 times fast!) this weekend, and we actually talked about driving to Shiloh on the Tennessee-Mississippi state line. And while the lack of fees was cool, it probably wouldn’t even out the 2-hour one way drive to get there. As a compromise, we decided to go to Carnton Plantation, an important site in the battle of Franklin and a place I’ve wanted to visit since I moved here.

We met Buddy for lunch at Puckett’s Grocery in downtown Franklin (I heart downtown Franklin), had some cupcakes at Ivey Cakes, and then Mindy and I went on for our history nerd excursion.

5888_106936207415_504797415_2075132_1705307_n5888_106936197415_504797415_2075130_3131290_n

Carnton Plantation is cool. There’s some outbuildings you can look at, a garden to walk through, and, of course, the Confederate cementary. When we arrived, an assortment of musicians was rehearsing bluegrass music on the back porch, which was fun. (An interesting sidenote: the back porches at Carnton were not original, but were added after Carrie Winder McGavock married and moved to Tennessee from Terrebonne Parish in Louisiana, where she was used to big porches. An added bonus: the porches probably helped cool the house.) Our tour, quite frankly, could have been better. Our tour guide was young and tried to talk too fast. I think it was one of those instances when you’re thinking three words ahead of what you’re actually saying and things get all garbled. He stumbled over his words a lot and I had to really concentrate to understand what he was telling us. Interesting things about the house: there are bloodstains all over the floors in the house from the night of the Battle of Franklin when the house was used as a hospital. There are bloodstains from where Confederate field surgeons performed amputations. It’s both interesting and gross. Also, Civil War era field surgery kits are SCARY! Mindy and I enjoyed our trip back in history. Someday, it might be fun to do the ghost tour.

5888_106936212415_504797415_2075133_1533351_n5888_106936222415_504797415_2075135_7211948_n5888_106936227415_504797415_2075136_5858932_n

Saturday ended with some yummy pasta dish I created with asiago cheese, sundried tomato, onion, bacon (no prosciutto to be found in the fridge), and a cream sauce. I declared myself the world’s best cook again!

Sunday was good, with church in the morning, lunch at Chili’s with Mindy and Liz, who was just back from Lithuania and full of stories. During the afternoon, I planned to take a nap, but Muffin the Wonder Poodle had other plans (namely barking) and that didn’t quite work out. It’s at this point that I got sucked into a movie on ABC Family called “Another Cinderella Story.” Yes, the name basically says it all. It was bad. It was for teenagers. But 30-year-old me sat there and watched it, completely absorbed and hoping the Cinderella character got with the Prince Charming character, who was a dancing, singing teen pop star in this version of the tale. I had to leave before the movie was over, so I actually recorded it. Yes, I know that takes this admission from proof of my lameness to proof of my insanity, but I wanted to see what happened. Of course, Cinderella and Prince Charming got together, in a massive dance-off in LA. And his big romantic words to her? “I had forgotten why I even started to dance. You make me remember.” Yeah, that’s what I’m building my relationship on: the ability to dance. Because really, no one is ever going to date me once they see my non-dancing skills.

All in all, it was a good weekend. I could use more of them like that! 🙂

(Most pictures at Carnton were taken by Mindy. My camera was being tempermental. Again.)

7 thoughts on “Working for the weekend”

  1. -Ryan actually got to stay AT the Hotel del Coronado one year while attending the SPIE (Society of Photographic Instrumentation Engineers) conference…I was SO jealous.
    -You rock that hat! I can’t wear a hat to save my life, but you look absolutely adorable.
    -Don’t feel bad. I DVR’d “Another Cinderella Story” several months ago when it debuted!

  2. I would LOVE to stay at the Hotel del Coronado. I went out there and walked around the one time I was in San Diego,and it was absolutely beautiful!

    Thanks for the compliment on the hat. I’m kind of addicted to newsboy caps and have way too many. . . And I was having hair issues that day, so the hat with pigtails won! 🙂

    I enjoyed that silly movie. I think I’m still about 16 at heart.

  3. what do darts have to do with sewing? also, i like downtown Franklin in the handful of times i’ve been there.

    i dig the hat.

    no pictures of the blood stains?

  4. Darts is a sewing term. . . I have no idea how to explain what they are.
    Downtown Franklin just makes me happy.
    Photography wasn’t allowed in the house 😦 So no bloodstain photos.

  5. So fun!

    Speaking of sewing the buttons came off the back pockets of my cute jean capris. So I sewed them shut. Umm… you should see the stitching. It is quite hilarious.

    But at least the flaps are coming up. 🙂

  6. Kelly! You crack me up. Sometimes, I leave the back pockets of dressed pants sewed shut so that they’ll lay flat and the pockets won’t get all weird! The darts I made in a shirt I’m constructing for myself were NOT good. I would have looked quite misshapen. So I threw it away.

    Mindy: Thanks for saying I look good in a hat. I love hats. I own way too many.

Leave a Reply

