Travelers Rest

Travelers Rest, S.C.—The name is so poetic. Funny how I didn’t get much rest last night.

Let’s just say that me and my hotel a/c unit are having a tough time cohabitating. It. never. shuts. off. And it’s not like it works all that well, anyway. The air just blows up into the curtains, making them billow out like some antebellum woman’s hoop skirt, but it doesn’t really circulate around the room. And the constant hum, which really should help you sleep, I would think, annoys me. I get fixated on it and can’t go to sleep. So there was a lot of tossing and turning last night. A lot of testing other pillows in the queen-sized bed and a lot of looking at the clock. Fun times.

But, I always have a rough time the first night in a different place. I’m hoping tonight will be better. Let’s hope!

We’ll head to the camp around 11 a.m. this morning to meet with the director, then get our room set-up and then work with students for 2 hours. Then, we’re free! (Sadly, I have magazine files to edit on my computer. Oh, well, the life of an editor.)

Let’s just hope that I say awake . . .

3 thoughts on “Travelers Rest”

  1. Scott: the plan is to go to Greenville for something “good” for dinner. We ate hotel breakfast and lunch at the college, so anything will top that! Travelers Rest seems nice. . . .and not very big.

    Mindy: That Aspen. She just wants you to know she’s glad you’re there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

