Dispatches

It’s Friday and nothing seemed more appropriate than ending the week that was with Disptches.  (And I almost just typed  “Snippets,” which is something I write and post every Friday morning for the magazine blog. Wow! More sleep might have been a good idea.

• First of all—the biggest news of the day:  Missouri beat the Memphis Tigers to advance to the Elite 8. I am thrilled. It’s the first time for Mizzou to go the the Elite 8 since 2002 (a Quinn Snyder fluke) and we’re a team who has never been to the Final Four. I don’t know that we’ll get there this year, but  of all the teams I watched play last night, Mizzou was the one who looked the best, the most prepared, and absolutely focused on the goal. I give all the credit to Mike Anderson who is a great coach and a man of integrity.

• When I’m watching sporting events that make me nervous, I start finding  odd tasks to complete to ease the unrest. Last night, I painted my fingernails (the color is Speed Dating) and stopped short of a pedicure.  Though I need one. I should probably get a pro to do it, though. Give myself a little spring treat.  I also read part of a book and made my dog crazy while watching the game. Eventually, I couldn’t stand having no one to process the game with and got online so I could talk to friends all over the  place. And ended up talking with  a guy from the Philippines whom I’ve never met, but he worked with some friends and coworkers orf mine during a mission trip last month.  Such a great guy; such a strong believer. I find it cool that while I may never meet him on earth, we’re united by a truth and a relationship that I don’t understand and can’t wrap my brain around. As Julianne would say (for those of you who knows what I’m talking about), it blows my mind!

• I’ve been thinking a lot about Andrew Peterson’s song “No More Faith” a lot lately. It was on his second album and I’m sure didn’t get much radio play, because the title probably freaked Christian radio out. But the idea of the song is that living this faith is hard. It’s heavy and a burden and we dont’ always see things clearly or feel like we have enough faith or that we can trust anything. But there’s something inside that always pulls us back, that always says “I’m not letting you go.” The idea AP seemed to want to get across is that one day, we’ll lay this faith down and it will be sight. We won’t have to pursue what we can’t see anymore. And sometimes, I find myself wishing passionately for that day, because I often feel like someone of very little faith.  That’s when I turn to the truth of Scripture and the things I know are true. And I remember a lyric Steven Curtis Chapman wrote after the death of his daughter in 2008:

“I’ve walked the valley of death’s shadow
So deep and dark that I could barely breathe
I’ve had to let go of more than I could bear
And questioned everything that I believe
But still even here
in this great darkness
A comfort and hope come breaking through

As I can say in life or death

God we belong to you.”

(Sorry, I think I just preached!)

• I haven’t worn earrings since about Tuesday this week. This is odd for me. I can’t really explain why I haven’t, except to say that  I’m very tired and it seemed like too much effort.

• I’m going to Mammoth Cave tomorrow. We’re supposed to  do a picnic lunch, but I hope someone has a backup plan since there’s a good probability it will be raining. Bleh.

• My mom had cataract surgery yesterday. They removed the cataract on one eye and put a lens in that will correct her vision, at least mostly. She was out of surgery by about 10 a.m. and said she can already read things that she can’t even see with her other eye. She’ll have surgery on it the week after Easter.

• I am currently sewing some burp cloths for various babies in my life. I hope they turn out as cute as they are in my mind. That was always my problem with graphic design. I could see what I wanted something to look like, but when the time came to make it reality, I couldn’t transfer the dream to the computer screen.

• I left Muffin loose in the house today. I hope that she doesn’t have a wild house party and tear the place down. 🙂

Happy Friday, all!

6 thoughts on “Dispatches”

  1. Ha! How sweet it is! The Elite Eight! I had faith in my Missouri Tigers.
    (I just started singing the alma mater in my head!)

    Janice: I haven’t watched LOST yet, but I understand we must talk when I do!

    Scott: keep cheering! We’ll need it against UConn. And I won’t be at home for the game! I’m quite upset about this. 🙂 So watch for me and cheer loudly.

  2. When I heard about the game last night, I realized you wouldn’t have watched yet. But, yes, call me when you get to it. Will it be tonight? I might invite myself over to watch with you… 😉

  3. Thanks for publishing about this. There’s a heap of solid tech info on the internet. You’ve got a lot of that info here on your web site. I’m impressed – I try to keep a couple blogs reasonably current, but it’s a struggle sometimes. You’ve done a big job with this one. How do you do it?

Leave a Reply

