Surviving

When I was in college and lived in the dorm, I was the girl who posted the NCAA bracket on her door and kept track of scores, upsets, and such. My dorm room door was the place people came to get info about who won what game and what was happening in the tournament.

That really hasn’t changed. Outside my office, I have three brackets that various coworkers and I have filled out in our work competition, plus two more brackets I’ve filled out for online pools (for my group on FB & a friend’s ESPN pool). In addition, I have another bracket I’ve filled out in my office. I can’t hang it on the wall because we got the directive that  only graphic designers should print on the color printer because of economic restraints and I accidentally printed this one in  color.  To save myself the lecture, I just decided to keep the “contraband” hidden.

The good news is, so far, so good. I’m surviving the first round. Actually, I got 14 correct (out of 16) for Thursday’s first round of action, which in my mind, except for Clemson losing (WHAT?!), was an all too predictable first day of play. It would have certainly been lived up by a Memphis loss to a 15-seed, but that didn’t happen.  Missouri plays today and we’ll see how that goes!

But for the first time in probably 8-10 years,  I didn’t spend last night watching game after game in a March Madness-induced euphoria on my couch. In an effort to build some relationships and hang with the girls, people came over to watch the newer version of Pride and Prejudice last night. And I certainly do love to mock a movie with my girls! So, while I missed some great games, I did get to have some fun with the girls.

And tonight, I’ll be watching basketball on my parents’ amazingly large big screen. Good times!

3 thoughts on “Surviving”

  1. Must be nice to have the early lead in brackets!

    VCU let me down. The refs _did not_ help that cause. Glad to see the undeserving 5 seed IL go down. Purdue survived and advanced. Whew! 🙂

    Bring on the upsets today! Go Portland State!

Leave a Reply

