Let’s kick it up a notch.

OK, I love my job. I really do.

But like any job, I realize it’s not perfect; you don’t always get to do the parts of it you enjoy; and sometimes your coworkers drive you a little batty.

But lately, my department seems to be taking cues from the employees of Dunder-Mifflin’s Scranton branch.

Case in point: the random contest currently taking place at work.

I won’t bore you with all the intricacies of this yearly department event. It suffices to say that two candidates from our department are nominated, announced, and then “campaign” against one another for the title, which I’m not quite sure is an honor. The winner gets to wear a really dorky hat that looks like a table with a turkey on top. The goal of this contest is to get donations for a ministry in town that provides gifts for children who won’t get anything else without it.

Let’s just saw that this year the campaign has been lackluster. Our department is about half the size it used to be, the economy is bad, and we’re all still trying to do the same amount of work with fewer people. AND we’re busy. We don’t really have time for random campaigning, sign-making, and speeches. But all kinds of drama has developed over what some have seen as a lackluster campaign between the candidates (who are BUSY!). I mean, like high school girl drama. There have been emails. There have been hallway conversations. There have been veiled insinuations and digs. It’s basically high school. With grown-ups. Which I submit to you is most of life.

And my office is between the two candidates’ offices (I’m Switzerland), who are basically have too much to do to make this thing a priority.

Anyway, today I walked in to find new signs papering the walls declaring another coworker to be a write-in candidate due to the lack of fervor with which the nominated candidates have responded. (Ahem, there is WORK to do!) Said coworker has nominated him/herself. (Can you do that?!)

So, my theory is that somewhere, someone is watching and writing this all down. Because offices really are absurd. “The Office” may take it to a level of absurdity that crosses all boundaries of reality, but we laugh because there’s some semblance of truth there.

I won’t be surprised when some form of this appears on the show. I mean the whole who-caused-a-possible-fire-in-the-breakroom has already happened here. We’ve had awkward conference room meetings.

But in all of the absurdity, I’m glad life is a daily adventure, even when it’s more like high school drama.

That said, let the absurdity continue!

One thought on “Let’s kick it up a notch.”

  1. Wow….really?! Wow. Wish I could be a fly on the wall and hoping you’re taking notes and sending them into the writers of The Office. There could be some money in this for you, you know. 😉

Leave a Reply

