Weekend at Bernie’s

(OK, so it was more like a weekend in Bernie, my hometown, but my parents’ do have a dog named Bernie. . . .so it kind of was a weekend at Bernie’s. . . . anyway, I digress.)

I went to Missouri this weekend to meet my new nephew. Since he was born on Wednesday night, we expected Amber and Eli to be released from the hospital on Friday morning. I had a travel day from last weekend in Pittsburgh, so I took Friday off, got up early, and took off for Missouri by 7:30 a.m., hoping I’d arrive in town about the same time Jason and Amber got home with the bundle of joy.

That plan didn’t quite work out. Amber’s doctor didn’t come by to release her in any kind of timely manner, Eli’s circumcision (sorry, guys!) got pushed back until noon, and basically, they didn’t even start home until about 2 p.m. Meanwhile, I’d had lunch with my parents and helped my mom plan dinner for the Welcome Home, Eli dinner. Finally, they arrived at the house and I got to hold my sweet nephew.

img_1037

Saturday was full of sleeping in, having Mama’s chili for lunch (with Eli and Jason and Amber), organizing my mom’s picture files on her PC for her and printing some brag book pics of Eli for her, and going to Wal-Mart. Because that’s how we roll in southeast Missouri. We also ate a local restaurant, Hickory Log (please don’t ask about the name!) and took dinner to Jason and Amber. Where Eli was wide awake and I got to hold him some more.

Sunday meant church services at the church I grew up in. Amber came in with Eli for the service (I know, I know, I think they should keep him at home, too!) and I got to hold him during the whole service since I was leaving in the afternoon and wouldn’t see him again until Thanksgiving. This was all fine and dandy, until I felt a very warm dampness seeping over my lap. Yep, my nephew peed on me. I’m taking the dry cleaning charges out of his allowance. . . you know, when he gets old enough to get one.

We then went home to eat a yummy, Mama-made dinner and took Eli up to the nursing home to meet my Grandma Ruby (his great-grandma) and take pictures of 4 generations. I really wish I could have seen all of that. . . .since I was not feeling well and never actually got down to Grandma’s room.

We won’t mention the part of the trip when I threw up. But I feel better now. And I’m back in Nashville safe and sound. And I’m here for awhile. So anybody want to go see that Changeling movie with me this week/weekend?

7 thoughts on “Weekend at Bernie’s”

  1. Sounds like you had fun . . . well, except for the pee incident!

    Oh I can’t blame Amber for getting out already with baby Eli . . . I was at Target with Jonah a day or two after coming home from the hospital. I just needed to feel normal! 🙂

    Anyway, congrats again!

  2. I’ve been away for a conference and family reunion in Texas, so I hadn’t been checking the website. Congrats on the nephew! I am happy for Jason & Amber!

    I know what you mean about not taking the baby to church even though the risks are minimal. Part of me wanted to show Jeanna off to everyone (since she was so adorable) and to feel normal. The other part of me has worked with those children who were unlucky enough to have some major problems with exposure to viruses, so I just couldn’t do it!

    However, you were the one to hold him, not the entire congregation, so it was probably okay! 🙂

  3. sounds like a fun weekend! now you have a story about Eli to embarrass him about later in his life. always keep it in your back pocket.

    about Changeling, i read the wikipedia on it, and i am not sure if i want to go see it. i’m not really into heavy drama movies like that. i’m totally stoked about the new Bond though.

  4. Is Changeling all heavy drama? Cause I don’t think I can handle that. . . I just liked the “mystery-that’s-not-my-kid” aspect. Oh, well. Maybe Bond is it. Now I just need someone to go with me. . . and fund the popcorn eating that will occur.

  5. Great stories! And against doctor’s orders, my youngest nephew made a 2-hour drive to my grandma’s funeral the day after he got out of the hospital. But my sister was NOT going to miss the funeral. What was funny was that no one even knew she’d had him – he was born the day before Grandma died, but since they couldn’t agree on a name until right before they let them out, we hadn’t told anyone he’d been born. He doesn’t seem any worse for it – after all, he’s 21 now!!!

    I think you still owe me from the last popcorn-eating… But then again, you are the one who had given me the gift card I used to buy it, so I guess that should make us even! 🙂

    I want to see Changeling, but I’m against going to the movies right now. It’s just too expensive.

  6. Now that was a full, fun weekend! I skipped out on a chance to see Changeling last week. A movie junkie friend who did go thought it was overwrought, overly dramatic and not exactly an edge of your seat thriller. Oh, and it was almost 2.5 hours long. Mind you he’s a movie snob. The new Bond flick looks good though.

  7. Am I really that out of touch with the real world? I didn’t even realize there was a new Bond film until I saw the poster at the theater yesterday, and I’ve never even heard of Changeling! We did venture out to a matinee for Isaac’s first trip to a movie theater to see Madagascar 2 yesterday…that’s got to count for something 🙂

Leave a Reply

