It’s my birthday

and I’ll cry if I want to. Or, you know, wake up way earlier than necessary and blog. Or possibly get stuck going to Baltimore for a focus group and forget the bag containing most of my toiletries, deodorant included, at home. Or have a headache.

I most certainly never thought I’d be turning 30 alone in a hotel room near BWI. Because if you grew up in my family, birthdays were a big deal. OK, not everyone’s birthday was a big deal, but my parents always made a big deal out of my and Jason’s birthday. So to be here, 3 hours and 30 minutes into my 30s, alone, without pancakes with candles (a common b-day breakfast in the Crow household), anonymous in a city of people I don’t know is a little surreal. But I’ll be back in Nashville later today (reunited with my hairspray, moisturizer, contact solution, etc.) and hopefully, my mood will improve.

Let’s hope anyway. I foresee a nap in my future.

8 thoughts on “It’s my birthday”

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! We here in Nashville miss you and are looking forward to your return – then we can celebrate Mandy!!

  2. Thanks, guys! (And I sincerely thought about finding the closest flight to Europe, Scott. I’m getting a raise at work, so maybe soon!)

    And I’m back in Nashville now. And taking a nap this afternoon. Do not disturb! 🙂

  3. Hey, hope it was a happy birthday. No one should turn 30 alone. Luckily you had the blogosphere. So far 31 has turned out to be far superior to 30 though so at least you have that to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

