Wave your freak flag

So my dog, ladies and gentlemen, has lost her mind.

OK, I understand having a few quirks or even maybe a few paranoid moments. I get it that she’s almost 10 and maybe can’t see that well. I understand that she’d rather bark at me to pick up the ball when it’s closer to here than bring it to me. I get it that she thinks the bed is too high for her to jump on so she jumps alongside it on her back legs for minutes at a time rather than just making one big jump and getting up there. I get those things.

It’s her newest quirk that I don’t get. Here’s a photo to help you understand why this newest “quirk” is so annoying:

See, Muffin the Wonder Poodle, has suddenly developed a phobia of actually eating out her bowl. And she’ll stand in there and scratch the rug and the floor until I get up and put some dog food on the floor. I can’t figure out what the problem is. I’ve thought that maybe she can’t see as well anymore. Or maybe her collar clanks against her bowl and scares her. I don’t know.

Whatever the problem, this little “quirk” is getting on my last nerve. Because while I love Muffin a lot, I’m fully aware that she is a dog. And dogs should be able to eat out of their bowls. Dogs shouldn’t be this high maintenance. I mean, really?

Is it too much to ask?

4 thoughts on “Wave your freak flag”

  1. Thunder used to take half of her food and put it on the floor, eat the remaining food out of her bowl, then eat the food on the floor. I called them her dinner mints! 🙂

  2. If you think it is because she can’t see or the sound, try putting the food on a light colored saucer and see if it gets better. If it works, it might be worth buying Miss Muffin a new dish. 🙂

  3. Hmm, this is an interesting idea, Kelly. I must try it.
    Of course, this is the same dog who picks all the red pieces out of dog food. I guess they taste better?

  4. The red pieces are probably the fatty pieces. Dogs are so good at picking out the fatter pieces and leaving the rest. Michelle had this issue with Toots…I don’t remember what she did the change it.

Leave a Reply

